All Volunteer Board of Directors

The WAEMA Board of Directors meet monthly to advance the work of the organization. To learn more about board leadership, or to request an issue to add to an upcoming agenda, please contact Christine Opiela at

Dr. JianFeng Yang LAc, MAc, EAMP graduated from the Chengdu University of Traditional Chinese Medicine and has been practicing acupuncture and Chinese medicine since 1970. He has taught acupuncture and TCM for more than 27 years both in China and the United States.

To date, Jianfeng Yang has received his master degree of medicine in China in 1983 and has held the position of visiting professor at the Chengdu University of TCM. He served as the president of the Acupuncture College at the Chengdu University of TCM, one of five members of the standing council, Sichuan Branch of the China Association of Acupuncture and Moxibustion, as well as the Director of the Clinic Branch at the Chengdu Association of Acupuncture and Moxibustion.

Maria Hunter LAc, AEMP, Dipl OM was pre-med at the University of Washington and graduated with a degree is Public Health. Years later, while seeking care for a life long health concern, she found acupuncture and Chinese Medicine. It has since become her mission to share this medicine with as many people as possible, to provide her patients with the natural and safe tools they need for better health and happiness, and to assist in creating attainable solutions for life long wellness.

Carly Samish LAc is an acupuncturist with a clinical practice in Olympia serving people of all ages. She provide treatments for hospice patients and works with hospice organizations to integrate acupuncture services into their programs. She teaches and writes about bodywork, Chinese medicine, and business practices.

Yanling Xiao LAc, EAMP, OMD Yanling is a Nationally Board Certified Oriental Medicine Practitioner, licensed acupuncturist and herbalist in the state of Washington with over 20 years of professional experience in acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM). Her specialized studies started at Hubei University of Chinese Medicine in 1996. Upon completion, she earneda five-year Bachelor’s of Science degree in Chinese Medicine in 2001.

Natalie-Pascale Boisseau EAMP, LAc, LMP, JD, MSA is an acupuncturist and practitioner of East-Asian medicine, of French Canadian culture and perfectly bilingual in French and English. She is licensed in Washington State. She has graduated from Bastyr University with a Master of Sciences in Acupuncture and is certified with the NCCAOM board as a Diplomate in Acupuncture. Natalie-Pascale has practiced in healthcare since 2006, and in meditation and body mind approaches for more than 22 years. She is a licensed massage therapist with a speciality in cranio-sacral therapy and has assisted in teaching the richness of this modality. She has worked as an acupuncturist for two years at rehabilitation and counseling residential services.

After spending two years teaching about Chinese medicine and nutrition at a wellness center in Asia, she returned to the state of Washington and began a residency program specializing in a unique form of Chinese medicine and Acupuncture in conjunction with the ancient Chinese pulse evaluation.

John Frostad LAc, EAMP John Frostad began his interests in natural health care while finishing his business degree. He received his academic and clinical training at Bastyr University in Seattle, WA. He began his private practice in 1997 in the Milton / Edgewood area. In 2002, he founded Edgewood Natural Health LLC, a mutli-disciplinary natural health clinic.

John has taught traditional Chinese diagnosis at Bastyr University. He spent 8 years as adjunct faculty at Everest College of Massage, teaching anatomy & physiology and Eastern massage methods. On occasion, he also teaches various continuing education courses.

WAEMA Past Presidents

Charis Wolf 2019 - 2020
Dr. JianFeng Yang 2018 - 2019
Curt Eschels 2018 - 2018
Ash Goodard 2016 - 2017
Andy McIntyre 2015 - 2016
Curt Eschels 2011 - 2015
Lisa Van Haagen 2010 - 2011
George Whiteside 2005 - 2010
Jeff Spring 2005
Mercy Yule 2004 - 2005
Eliahu Stahl 2004
Monica Legatt 2003 - 2004
John Frostad 2000 - 2003
Christopher Huson 1997 - 2000
Patricia Flood 1996 - 1997
Lori King 1994 - 1996
Karen Boyd 1990 - 1994
Mark Imlay 1987 - 1990
Jim Blair 1985 - 1987
David Kailin 1983 - 1985
Richard Kitaeff
1978 - 1983